New: U.S. Senate Medicare Payment Reform Working Group

A bipartisan Senate working group on Medicare reimbursement may be good news for surgeons...but it may not

New: U.S. Senate Medicare Payment Reform Working Group


A bipartisan group of U.S. Senators is making Medicare payment reform a priority amid rising challenges in healthcare spending and value-based care implementation. Senators Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), John Thune (R-SD), John Barrasso (R-WY), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), and Mark Warner (D-VA) established a Medicare payment reform working group to focus on exploring long-term, sustainable legislation that improves the Medicare physician fee schedule and the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act (MACRA). The group seeks to address the rising costs of care, the utilization of evolving technologies in clinical care, and the shift toward patient outcome-based provider reimbursements.


The Senators announced the formation of the group on February 9, 2024.

Key Highlights